Ravelympics 2010 winner!

I got two medals! I am so proud, because I didn’t only finish the project I expected, but I had enough time to make a second one.

I am the happy winner of a Short Track Shawls and Mitten Moguls medal!

Purple Dandy


Yarn: unknown 20-year-old ball my mother found in a drawer, supposedly acrylic
Needles: PONY 3mm circulars
Pattern: Dandy Neckerchief by Ariane Caron-Lacoste
I was afraid of running our of yarn, but I was able to make a whole shawlette with just one little ball, and ended up with 18 pattern repetitions. The wingspan is a bit wee short, but I just tuck the ends under the part around my neck, instead of having them fall over my shoulders.
I found the yarn may be acrylic, because it didn’t block . The pattern looks great though, I couldn’t have chosen a better motif for this yarn
.

Happy Hands Up


Yarn: Noro Kureyon Sock S184
Needles: PONY 2.5mm dpns
Pattern: Hands Up by Aileen Carhill
Mods: I have really slim and long hands, which is a real pita when I want to find gloves, either they are too short if they fit snugly, or fall off my hands if they are the right length. I modified a bit the pattern to better fit my hands. I added some knitting rows to make them longer, and modified stitch count on some rows. The result is that they fit me perfectly and don’t pull at my knuckles as these sort of mitts always do.
I made the pink mitt pulling the yarn from the center of the ball. The next yarn was a sad lilac, so I made the green mitt with the outer yarn.
Did I say I LOVE the colors? I find it funny, that both have the same green at the cuff, and then evolve so differently.
I don’t know if I love or hate Noro Kureyon Sock… the color is gorgeous and amazing, the touch after knitting is a bit rough (it seems it will get softer when soaked, washed and blocked), but knitting it was horrible! I had my fingers in shreds! Worth the pain, though 🙂

And I finally decided to start a different project… The uber-famous Sexy Vesty! I am using the purple DK yarn in this picture and it feels so soft and bouncy 😀

I knitted a swatch for the first time and I didn’t get gauge with the recommended 3.75 needles, so I went up to 4mm and got it exactly. I hope it comes right!

First time using my Denise Interchangeable Needles, too. I love the fact that I have a 17″ circular cable for the needles, I could cry from happiness. In my city I could only find 31″ circular needles, and knitting there was far too messy for me. Now I have all my stitches wonderfully together, no stitch is pulled from the other, and the circular flow is smooth. The touch of plastic needles feels a bit strange after being used to metal, but the knitting is soft and I’m getting used 🙂

klematis vesty

There are no comments on this post.

Responder

